13/12/2019 - 18:26

Garmendia y A Coruña, shines in the Estrella Galicia Trophy

Jesús Garmendia again received a big applause at La Coruña by achieving another medal to his name in Casas Novas, where he was shining like a star, as he was the only Spaniard to win the Grand Prix 5* in the 39 editions, which was in 2009, during the winter edition. This afternoon, the Basque rider held the Estrella Galicia Trophy of the 2 * contest with Llain de Llamosas, in a competition that ran under two stages heating up the winter circuit of the arena.
This time, the victory divided the hearts of the fans, between the love devoted to Garmendia and that of the Galician by Jacobo Fontán, who led the classification almost the whole time. Fontán came out in the tenth place on the back of Coltaire, a pair that in the last summer edition gave a thrilling victory to the local stand in the GP2* Prosegur Trophy. With a tour full of ambition, they stopped the clock in 24.29 seconds. Four dozen candidates were ahead. It was just the following rider, Pedro Mateos, who was closest to the winning time, although he stayed four tenths (26.49 seconds) with Balasco de l’Abbaye. From there, the leadership of Fontán did not seem to be in danger until Garmendia left, which cut 24 hundredths and climbed into the first draw of the podium.
Gonzalo Añón gave local crowd a fourth place, riding AD Amigo B, with 24.77 seconds. And the international touch of the winning quintet was the Portuguese Bernardo Ladeira, with Dento and a time of 25.05 seconds.
As the two CSI2* competitions came to a close, Arteixo is prepared to receive the higher category of riders this weekend, that will close in style with the Longines FEI World Cup Grand Prix - CaixaBank Trophy. The first competition that the best riders in the world will be the NH Collection Trophy, which starts at 5:45 p.m. The 55 horses registered to compete will have to face heights of 1.45 meters in this competition run under Table A with chrono.
Among the big names are Robert Whitaker, Leopold Van Asten, Edwina Tops-Alexander, Olivier Robert or Eric Van der Vleuten, to name a few. But also the Spanish in the world top are; Eduardo Álvarez Aznar, Sergio Álvarez Moya, Santiago Núñez, Pilar Lucrecia Cordón, Iván Serrano, Gerardo Menéndez and Manuel Fernández Saro.
Scheduled at 20:40 to start the last competition of the day, the most difficult one, the Massimo Dutti Trophy, with heights of 1.50-1.55 meters. To end a great opening day, the Santi Serra show will be at 10:45 p.m.