06/12/2017 - 16:54

A competition full of history

Casas Novas International Jumping Show has a list of triumphs filled out of sporting feats and unforgettable victories from the best riders in the world that have made it a national and international reference in its category.

Since its first edition, the interest of the riders, sponsors and fans has increased in each contest, thanks to which has managed to bring the best binomials of the circuit in all editions, which, as expected, have competed brilliantly leaving many anecdotes and memorable performances.


The CSI was celebrated for the first time in 2000, coinciding with the opening of the equestrian center where it takes place. His name is owed to the terrain on which the arena is built.

It was that same year that the great sporting level of the competition was appreciated. As an anecdote, in that edition there were two winners in the Grand Prix. Both the French Guy Jonqueres D'Oriola and the Chilean Tomas Couve stopped the clock in the same hundredth. To remember, the moment in which both raised the trophy together.

Few years ago, due to some great attendances, an improvement and extension project was started for the stands and parking in 2001.

The successes continued and during 2004 the CSI of A Coruña reached the category five stars, the highest distinction of the International Equestrian Federation.

The first victory of a woman rider was in 2005, at the tenth edition of the Grand Prix, with the winning of French Eugénie Angot.

First Spanish victory was also expected in the Grand Prix. In the 2009 edition, Jesús Garmendia, riding Lord of Mont Milon, set the stands up of the riding arena with his triumph.

2014 was also an edition to remember with Leopold Van Asten making history in A Coruña, by winning the Longines Grand Prix, since never before had a rider won the Grand Prix in summer and winter the same year.

In 2015, Dutch 18-year-old Lisa Nooren won in A Coruña and became the youngest winner to take the big test at Casas Novas.

In 2016 Casas Novas premiered as part of the World Cup, the most important competition worldwide. The Colombian rider Carlos López won the first Grand Prix of the World Cup that hosted the equestrian center. This year, the Colombian repeats participation, in which he will try to win again.

This year Casas Novas also repeated as part of the Longines FEI World Cup Jumping, being this stage on the equator of the qualifying tests for the western European League.


The anthem that has played most times at the end of the Grand Prix has been the French, with 7 victories, including the inaugural shared with Chile. Next one is the Netherlands with six victories. Spain, by its side, adds to the triumph of Jesús Garmendia, another by the Asturian Sergio Álvarez Moya in 2012.

However, the rider who has won the Grand Prix most times is the Austrian Olympic Thomas Frühmann, who can got incontestable victories in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

As we mentioned, the Dutchman Leopold Van Asten is, until now, the only rider to win the Grand Prix in summer and winter of the same year. His countrywoman Lisa Nooren, become at just 18 years old, in the youngest winner of the big event of the contest.

Together with Nooren, three other woman riders have triumphed in the Grand Prix of A Coruña; they are French Eugénie Angot, American Laura Kraut and Canadian Jaclyn Duff, the last one this summer.
Horse riding is one of the sports with more family tradition, with authentic sagas of riders. This was shown in Casas Novas, again with Dutch protagonists. In this case, the brothers Wim Schröder and Gerco Schröder can presume of getting the Grand Prix of A Coruña, in 2004 and 2006, respectively.

In addition to these curiosities, in the list of winners of the contest we can find almost everything: tight victories, epic tiebreakers, surprise winners, record participants and excitement until the last binomial, to which will be added those that will be seen during this new edition of the CSI5*W A Coruña.